This website uses cookies to help us make your user experience better. To find out more, see our privacy policy.

Ypres Castle Inn

Ypres Castle Inn in Rye, East Sussex

Ypres Castle Inn
Gungardens
Rye
East Sussex
TN31 7HH
01797 223 248
yprescastleinn.co.ukVisit Website
Send E-Mail
Local Heroes
Friday, 1st July 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Almond Brothers
Sunday, 3rd July 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Rob King Band
Friday, 8th July 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Fran Mcgillivray
Sunday, 10th July 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Wakin Snakes
Sunday, 17th July 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Little Devils
Friday, 22nd July 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Slam
Friday, 29th July 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Sound Beach
Sunday, 31st July 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Carl Burgess
Sunday, 7th August 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
MT Vessels
Friday, 19th August 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
The Rokitmen
Monday, 29th August 2016, 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Desert Turkeys
Sunday, 4th September 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Craig Devlin
Sunday, 11th September 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Robin Bibi
Friday, 16th September 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Angelo Tristan Band
Friday, 23rd September 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Fabulous Red Diesel
Friday, 30th September 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Steve Riv and Nana Tisboe
Sunday, 9th October 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Black Sheep
Friday, 14th October 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Leigh Highwood Band
Friday, 28th October 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Almond Brothers
Sunday, 6th November 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
The Big Blue
Friday, 11th November 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Andy Twyman
Sunday, 20th November 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
The Rokitmen
Friday, 25th November 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Wakin Snakes
Sunday, 4th December 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Atlantic
Friday, 9th December 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Cushy
Friday, 16th December 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Rokitmen Christmas Party
Sunday, 18th December 2016, 4:00pm - 8:00pm
New Year's Eve - Phil Trainor
Saturday, 31st December 2016, 8:00pm - 11:30pm

Welcome

The Ypres Castle Inn, known locally as 'The Wipers' has been providing hospitality to visitors and residents of Rye for centuries. Built originally in 1640, and added to in Victorian times, the Inn has a warm and friendly atmosphere, and is built in the local weather boarded style, with colourful and interesting art and furnishings inside.

The Inn benefits too from having the only garden of any Inn in the central citadel area of Rye, offering welcome outdoor eating and relaxation during the warmer months. There is also a boules pitch, and delightful views of Ypres Castle and the River Rother with its working fishing fleet, just yards away.

The Ypres is listed in all the major independent guides including 'The Time Out Guide to Eating and Drinking in Great Britain & Ireland, 2004', 'The Good Pub Guide', 'The Real Ale Guide' and 'The AA guide to Pubs and Inns'. The Inn prides itself on the quality of its food and seasonally changing menu which uses local meat, fish, vegetables and other produce as much as possible. Examples of dishes include Rack of Saltmarsh Lamb with Redcurrant and Mint Glaze, Fillets of Sea Bass grilled with Lemon and Fresh Garden Herbs, Turbot with a Sauce Vierge. Additionally there is a lunchtime Bar Menu of lighter dishes to which are added daily specials.


Event

What's On in Rye?

  • Jazz Supper at The Mermaid

    Thursday 30th June
    Location: Rye

    The Mermaid’s jazz concert series continues with trumpeter Paul Higgs performing his world-class show - ‘Miles and Louis’ - a ... more

  • Rye Country Market

    Friday 1st July @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye

    Rye Country Market sells local produce which includes: Cakes, Preserves, Savouries, Free Range Eggs, Seasonal Vegetables and Fruit, Unusual Plants, ... more

  • Local Heroes

    Friday 1st July @ 9:30pm
    Location: Rye

    Local Heroes playing at Wipers. Please check website for updates as music listing may be subject to change. ... more

  • An Introduction to Rye Harbour Nature Reserve... P

    Saturday 2nd July @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye Harbour

    In this third and final walk of the series, Barry Yates, the nature reserve’s manager, will explore the southwest part ... more

  • Grand Monthly Jumble

    Saturday 2nd July @ 10:30am
    Location: Rye

    Grand Jumble Sale in aid of ARRCC on the first Saturday of every month starting 7th May 2016. The Warehouse ... more

  • Under Winchelsea cellar tours

    Saturday 2nd July @ 2:00pm
    Location: Winchelsea

    Winchelsea boasts over 50 medieval cellars, a number rivalled only in Bristol, Southampton and Norwich. They were all built between ... more

  • Binoculars and Beyond

    Sunday 3rd July @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye Harbour

    A short course for beginner birdwatchers, learning to identify some of our common waders, gulls and terns that nest here. ... more

  • Rye Ukelele Festival 2016

    Sunday 3rd July
    Location: Rye

    The 2nd Rye Ukulele Festival! Featuring ukulele groups from all over the South East. There will be a Big Busk, ... more

  • Almond Brothers

    Sunday 3rd July @ 7:30pm
    Location: Rye

    Almond Brothers playing at Wipers. Please check website for updates as music listing may be subject to change. ... more

  • Rye Country Market

    Friday 8th July @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye

    Rye Country Market sells local produce which includes: Cakes, Preserves, Savouries, Free Range Eggs, Seasonal Vegetables and Fruit, Unusual Plants, ... more

Message

Rye Message Board