This website uses cookies to help us make your user experience better. To find out more, see our privacy policy.

Ypres Castle Inn

Ypres Castle Inn in Rye, East Sussex

Ypres Castle Inn
Gungardens
Rye
East Sussex
TN31 7HH
01797 223 248
yprescastleinn.co.ukVisit Website
Send E-Mail
The Rockitmen
Friday, 27th May 2016, 9:30pm - midnight
Phil Trainor
Sunday, 29th May 2016, 7:00pm - midnight
Deep Sea Drivers
Friday, 3rd June 2016, 9:30pm - midnight
Angelo Tristan Band (Acoustic)
Sunday, 5th June 2016, 7:00pm - midnight
Open Mic Night
Tuesday, 7th June 2016, 8:00pm - midnight
Geoff Everitt Band
Friday, 10th June 2016, 9:30pm - midnight
Roger Carey and Andy Williams at Ypres Castle Inn
Sunday, 12th June 2016, 7:00pm - midnight
Quiz Night at the Wipers
Thursday, 16th June 2016, 7:30pm - midnight
Atlantic
Friday, 17th June 2016, 9:30pm - midnight
Kyle & Moore
Sunday, 19th June 2016, 7:00pm - midnight
Katie Bradley Blues Experience
Friday, 24th June 2016, 9:30pm - midnight
Andy Twyman
Sunday, 26th June 2016, 7:00pm - midnight
Local Heroes
Friday, 1st July 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Almond Brothers
Sunday, 3rd July 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Rob King Band
Friday, 8th July 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Fran Mcgillivray
Sunday, 10th July 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Wakin Snakes
Sunday, 17th July 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Little Devils
Friday, 22nd July 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Slam
Friday, 29th July 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Sound Beach
Sunday, 31st July 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Carl Burgess
Sunday, 7th August 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
MT Vessels
Friday, 19th August 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
The Rokitmen
Monday, 29th August 2016, 3:00pm - 6:00pm
Desert Turkeys
Sunday, 4th September 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Craig Devlin
Sunday, 11th September 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Robin Bibi
Friday, 16th September 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Angelo Tristan Band
Friday, 23rd September 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Fabulous Red Diesel
Friday, 30th September 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Steve Riv and Nana Tisboe
Sunday, 9th October 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Black Sheep
Friday, 14th October 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Leigh Highwood Band
Friday, 28th October 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Almond Brothers
Sunday, 6th November 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
The Big Blue
Friday, 11th November 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Andy Twyman
Sunday, 20th November 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
The Rokitmen
Friday, 25th November 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Wakin Snakes
Sunday, 4th December 2016, 7:30pm - 9:30pm
Atlantic
Friday, 9th December 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Cushy
Friday, 16th December 2016, 9:30pm - 11:30pm
Rokitmen Christmas Party
Sunday, 18th December 2016, 4:00pm - 8:00pm
New Year's Eve - Phil Trainor
Saturday, 31st December 2016, 8:00pm - 11:30pm

Welcome

The Ypres Castle Inn, known locally as 'The Wipers' has been providing hospitality to visitors and residents of Rye for centuries. Built originally in 1640, and added to in Victorian times, the Inn has a warm and friendly atmosphere, and is built in the local weather boarded style, with colourful and interesting art and furnishings inside.

The Inn benefits too from having the only garden of any Inn in the central citadel area of Rye, offering welcome outdoor eating and relaxation during the warmer months. There is also a boules pitch, and delightful views of Ypres Castle and the River Rother with its working fishing fleet, just yards away.

The Ypres is listed in all the major independent guides including 'The Time Out Guide to Eating and Drinking in Great Britain & Ireland, 2004', 'The Good Pub Guide', 'The Real Ale Guide' and 'The AA guide to Pubs and Inns'. The Inn prides itself on the quality of its food and seasonally changing menu which uses local meat, fish, vegetables and other produce as much as possible. Examples of dishes include Rack of Saltmarsh Lamb with Redcurrant and Mint Glaze, Fillets of Sea Bass grilled with Lemon and Fresh Garden Herbs, Turbot with a Sauce Vierge. Additionally there is a lunchtime Bar Menu of lighter dishes to which are added daily specials.


Event

What's On in Rye?

  • Boxing Show

    Tuesday 24th May
    Location: Rye

    Rye Town Warriors Boxing Club presents Rye's premiere, fully competitive boxing show. - Bar - Food - Raffle - Music ... more

  • Car Boot Sale

    Wednesday 25th May
    Location: Rye

    Toilets and Snacks on Site. Use It or We Will Lose It! ... more

  • Rye Country Market

    Friday 27th May @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye

    Rye Country Market sells local produce which includes: Cakes, Preserves, Savouries, Free Range Eggs, Seasonal Vegetables and Fruit, Unusual Plants, ... more

  • The Rockitmen

    Friday 27th May @ 9:30pm
    Location: Rye

    The Rockitmen playing at the Wipers. Check website for any updates or changes. ... more

  • Wild Woodland Weekend Club

    Saturday 28th May @ 10:00am
    Location: Beckley

    A monthly outdoor club where children aged 6-11 can explore, play and learn in the woods with campfires, mud, dens ... more

  • Coastal Plants

    Saturday 28th May @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye Harbour

    Find out how the shingle and saltmarsh plants cope with their harsh environment. We will also see some coastal birds. ... more

  • Rye Artisan and Craft Fair

    Saturday 28th May @ 10:00am
    Location: Rye

    Craft fair selling quality handmade and unique gifts from local designer makers, in East Sussex and Kent. All items sold ... more

  • Walk and Talk - A Guided Tour

    Saturday 28th May @ 11:00am
    Location: Rye

    David Hopkins takes you on a historical tour of Rye - Tudor boom, bust and plague, 18th century smuggling, the ... more

  • Superhero Sports Day

    Saturday 28th May @ 2:00pm
    Location: Rye

    Refreshments - Bar - Cafe - Cakes - Tombola - Raffle - Face Painting - Fancy Dress Competition - Tug ... more

  • Phil Trainor

    Sunday 29th May @ 7:00pm
    Location: Rye

    Phil Trainor playing at the Wipers. Check website for any updates or changes. ... more

Message

Rye Message Board